Week 13 – Artist Conversation – Nick Bamford

Artist: Nick Bamford

Exhibition: N/A

Media: Plaster, Cement, Wood and Founded Objects

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery East

Website: N/A

Instagram: @nickbamf4d

13055158_1114125191973389_7087965134990665291_o

About The Artist: Nick Bamford is an undergraduate in the CSULB School of Arts in Ceramics. Nick is from Huntington Beach. This is his last semester and once he graduates from CSULB, Nick would like to continue his studies at UCLA or Yale amongst other schools in order to earn his Masters degree in Sculptures. His goal after school would be in becoming a full-time artist and a teacher. Lastly, Nick would really want to have his art placed in museums.

Formal Analysis: What makes Nick and other artist different is the way he has his art pieces together. He has objects that he finds and puts them together forming different type of sculptures. He starts with his base being a big object and then starts overlapping other smaller, medium and back to larger objects. His sculptures also in a way has a zig zag form on how it was made.

Content Analysis: Nick as he said enjoys working with all kind of materials and different shaped objects in order to create his sculptures. For example, how he used the shopping cart in this case, not many people would think of using a shopping cart as an art object.

Synthesis/My Experience: Overall, this exhibition was really interesting. Right when I was going inside I seen that it had black curtains covering it which it caught my attention to go in. Once I went inside I seen how all these sculptures had so many objects attached together. The black lights really caught my attention. I actually have one in my room and my room has many neon colors so in some way I related my room to the colors of the sculptures.

Leave a Reply

